Day at the Races by A. N. Gretly

Running through thorn bushes toward petty dreams, the crowd watches in pity, their mummers seep into my ears like cold water dripping from a rust spotted pipe at the basement of a house long abandoned by its owners. I am but a vessel, cracked at the bottom. I am a person, nothing more, nothing less, or maybe, at times of desolate brooding or guilt, I am much less. I am in the crowd watching myself as I strive to make it. The people peer in awe at my attempts, they sigh when I fall to my knees, they sigh when I try to soldier on, they sigh as I crawl on wounded elbows toward that finish line. Running through thorn bushes toward petty dreams, the crowd goes wild. A crown falls in the manhole of existence, and makes its way along a human waste labyrinth. Glass hearts break, they shatter. Just a thought. Running through thorn bushes toward petty dreams, my lungs are ablaze. King no more, king, no more, nothing at all. And my royal blood, and my royal blood spurts out of my large pointed nose, down to my pale lips, traversing through the cracks, and I taste the rust, and I taste that toothsome metallic liquid, and the crimson blood creeps onto my chin, and falls in the green thorn bushes. Running through thorn bushes toward petty dreams, and the roses bloom a brilliant red. Someone says something, but it’s too late now, no one there to pick up the phone. The crowd is impatient, they shuffle on bent knees, flat feet, sozzled eyes. They vibrate. What a waste of time, a rip off, just running and running, staggering and crawling, and then, what? Running through thorn bushes toward petty dreams, the stands are empty, save for one person, I, watching another I fail once more. Oh, pity me, pity me, dear you, I am lost. Running through thorn bushes toward petty dreams, a day wasted at the races.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

