‘For Estella’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

I stagger through valleys of broken cars, and my feet sink into oil stained sand. The sun gleams with brilliant light, which reflects off a thousand pieces of broken glass. I look at my pocket watch, and find the hands at 4:30 the way they’ve been for several hours, or maybe days, I’m not sure. I turn my head to the sky, close my eyelids, and let the heat take me as I hear her calling my name.

Swoosh!

“Where am I?” I whisper to myself as I look around.

I see towering trees beyond the veil of dense mist, trees with thick green and brown trunks surrounding me like giant toy soldiers. I hear a distant howl that transforms my heart into a block of ice in the center of my burning chest. Something is coming, closing in on me, I know it, I just know it! I start to run amidst the trees, cutting through the fog. Everything looks the same, left is right, and back is forth. I fall to my knees, panting, as the howls get louder. The fog consumes me.

Splat!

“Her name is Estella.” I remind myself.

She puts her hand on my chest, which makes my heart beats accelerate. Her long golden curls rest gently on her shoulders, her smooth alabaster body reminds me of some Greek goddess. That Estella is something, with her dark piercing eyes, and luscious red lips, how utterly mystical. I kiss her hard, run my hand up her thighs, but the door bursts open, and I sit up with a start.  The tall man walks into the room looking like a sort of mean wolf in a drenched grey coat. He shoots me in the head, and I sink once more.

Bang!

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘For Estella’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

  1. Mona B says:

    This is really deep..I felt like I was right there, watching it all.

    Your words are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

