‘Monsters’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

I close my eyes and I see monsters bearing pale fangs dripping with thick saliva. I feel their rage hitting my body, seeping into every pore, and every single one of my cells. They stare right through me with gray eyes, dead eyes. They wear kinetic masks of faces I’ve seen before. These faces shift, they morph from one form to another. They breathe heavily, and the stench almost knocks me unconscious.

I close my eyes and I see monsters towering over me, with hardened lumps of blood stuck on their brownish fur. Their claws long and dark. They speak to me, not in tongue, but in thought. Their words hover before my mind’s eye like tormenting ghosts of past lives that stink of evil. Evil. I feel the word, but I don’t see it. I feel its presence as it twists my frozen guts, and squeezes my aching heart.

I close my eyes and I see monsters slashing a million different version of my own self. Tearing apart my limbs, skinning my body, and eating my raw flesh. They grin as they chew my tender muscles. They grin as they crush my fragile bones between their mighty teeth. The sound makes me shudder. The view makes me quiver, and what a view it was. A first row seat to my demise.

I close my eyes and I see monsters holding my brain in their crimson palms. They study it, poke at it as I cringe in horror. A vast cloud rises around them, a cloud made of all their demonic forces combined. They laugh at my thoughts, and mock my visions. How weak I feel when their malevolent energies flow inside my lungs through my burning nostrils.

I close my eyes and I see monsters, I close my eyes and I see monsters.

I close my eyes and I see myself.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Monsters’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

Leave a Reply

