‘Salvation?’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

It was in a different reality, so fantastically surreal with its subtlety. You and I just stood there by the immense wreckage of an ancient world, a world that echoed an impression of vivid familiarity in my mind. I beheld everything at once, but nothing caught my weary eyes, except maybe the grainy and ever so pale projection of the sight in front of me as a whole. The details of the big picture were too odd for my humble brain to comprehend.

“What now?” My mind asked yours.

You looked at me, stared at me past that third or fourth second, when the tension began to build up, and the rage, the madness, rose brick by crimson brick. I saw a twitch at the corner of your left eye, that micro vibration that indicated your emotions toward my foolish question.

“Salvation, of course!” You growled like a hellhound would.

You turned on your heels and walked away, searching for salvation under the ruins of that pathetic world. I didn’t move, not even an inch. The world rumbled beneath my feet, and I saw an ocean of people running my way, running your way, actually. Human beings staggering with bloody hands and feet, pushing and shoving each other like madmen. I snapped my fingers, and they all vanished.

“God is in hiding,” I said “Like Waldo, hiding in plain sight. He’s everywhere, you see? Over there, over here, to the left, right, up, down, and through. But you’re not really looking for God, are you? You’re looking for yourself.”

You stopped going through the ruins, and turned your head toward me.

“What now?” My mind asked yours with a smile.

You looked at me, stared at me past that third or fourth second, when the tension turned to sorrow, and the rage, the madness, fell brick by crimson brick. I saw a twitch at the corner of your left eye, that micro vibration that indicated your emotions toward your own foolishness.

“S-salvation, of course?” You trembled, with a little ball of spit at the corner of your mouth.

“Sorry,” I replied “Time’s up.”

I snapped my fingers, and the world crumbled on itself.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘Salvation?’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

  1. Mai mostafa says:

    LOVE IT. Your prose keeps getting better and better.

  2. Haunting; I might be wrong, but sounds like Abbasiya, as of late. Either way, I can’t click away from it yet…

  3. Budz says:

    Dazzling! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, Ahmed! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

