‘The Book Of Her’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

2:00 a.m.

Tuesday, 21st

there’s a crack on the wall

there’s a crack on the door

the place was falling apart

like my conscious mind

getting closer everyday

to its sorrowful demise

I crouched in the center

of my memory palace

and peered upon the

bookshelves that covered

the deep and macabre cracks

with hundreds of scrapbooks

and paper-backs and hard covers

and journals and text-books and more!

all contenting separately connected

celestial universes of distant memories

for there was nothing I feared more

in this world than forgetting

I picked up The Book Of Her

and dived right thought into

the world I’ve built inside my head

set between the 1920’s and 50’s

occupied only by the two of us

it was there that I remembered

and it was there that I never forgot

how it felt to be with my mermaid

my love

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘The Book Of Her’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

  1. Nola_B says:

    Beautiful ya Gretly.

  2. Noor says:

    Beautiful and really deep. I love it.

Leave a Reply

