‘An Aspersion In Blue I:C.A.M. Experiment’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

I

The reason I wandered away from my narrative is that at the moment of my arrival from the Cesspool Asylum, and after seeing Mary still lying in bed, holding a small vile of Blue; my mind took me on a comprehensive flashback. The world seemed to vibrate around me, something was amiss, and I could not for the life of me figure it out. A tang of anxiety struck me like a baseball bat on the head, and I fell onto my bed next to sweet Mary.

“Mary,” I whispered in her ears trying to wake her up “Mary, wake up.”

She didn’t move at first, but then started moaning and stirring; I took the tiny bottle from her hand, and found it was the exact same bottle The Doctor gave me back at the Asylum, with the same glowing bluish fluid inside of it.

“Where did you get this bottle?” I asked in an apprehensive tone, not quite my own.

“What-t?” Mary said clearing her throat “What bottle?”

She sat up rubbing her eyes, swung her feet off the bed and stood up with the sheet around her nude body. Her eyes were puffy, her eyelids a bit purple, and her hair stuck out in every which way. She stretched her arms, looked around for a minute, and stumbled to the dresser where a pack of cigarettes and a metal lighter lay next to a glass ashtray that was shaped like a human skull missing its top. She opened the pack and took out a ciggy with her teeth, then lit it, taking a long smooth drag.

I held up the bottle with my index finger and thumb in front of her face saying “This bottle, Mary, where did you get this?”

“I don’t know, Mr. Gretly” she said hesitantly staring at the bottle in my hand with smoke twirling out between her lips “I honestly don’t know how this bottle got─”

Mary was cut-off by the sound of my apartment’s front door being torn down, loud footsteps followed along with the unmistakable noise of weapons being loaded. For a second, Mary and I froze in place. I recollected myself right away, and without giving it much thought; I pushed Mary inside my wooded closet that had a secret compartment inside of it, one that wouldn’t really fit a person, but Mary was quite flexible and would definitely fit just fine.

“Put your hand in the fucking air mother-fucker!” A voice like cold metal came from behind me “Don’t you fucking move!”

I turned around and saw about ten or fifteen coppers, some were inside my bedroom, the rest were scattered all over the apartment. They held assault rifles pointed at me ready to blow my brains out, and wore their SWAT style armor as if it was a bank robbers’ bust.

“What’s the big idea?!” I exclaimed “I didn’t do anything!”

A copper, the biggest of all the ones in my bedroom, who seemed to be the team’s leader, kneed me in the guts, and then struck me in the face with the heel of his combat boots. My nose broke for the second time, but it hurt much more than when Mary did it.

“Callisto Gretly,” the metal voiced copper barked “You are under arrest for the possession of an illegal drug!”

“What the fuck?!” I yelled breathing in the blood from my broken nose, tasting its sweet iron-like taste on my lips, the blood began to drip on my floor “There are no illegal drugs in this city you dumb piece of shit, and I haven’t dealt Gov-shit in over three fucking years!”

I didn’t get an answer to that statement. However, I received a firm kick in the guts, and another, and then another. I was still conscious when they picked me up and threw into a corner as others finished searching the apartment. At that moment, I remembered the tiny bottle, which I had stuck in my shirt pocket as soon as I heard the door being torn down. No one was paying much attention to the fragile piece of flesh that was my body, so I took out the bottle with bloody quivering hands, surprised to find it unbroken. I was about to throw it out the window, but noticed something stuck at the bottom of it. The sentence ‘Drink me, Mr. Gretly’ was handwritten on a piece of paper, which was stuck to the glass bottle. I thought of The Doctor for a few seconds, unscrewed the top, and swallowed the Blue.

“You’re coming with us, Mr. Gretly.” The team leader said, and then kicked me in the face one more time, which made my head slam into the wall. I drowned into a sea of pain and blood. Darkness followed. I thought of sweet Mary, she was safe for the time being.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Chronicles Of A Twisted Mind, Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘An Aspersion In Blue I:C.A.M. Experiment’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

Leave a Reply

