‘Our Time’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

This was supposed to be our future.

In the haunting hours before dawn,

When demons stroll this broken earth,

And hideous hounds howl at a coruscating moon,

I think of her, and the things left,

Unsaid.

 

In the desolate hours before dawn;

I recall everything I felt when I saw her,

And how I nervously looked into her eyes.

I keep wondering; was it love, or

Fear?

 

In the eerie hours before dawn;

I brood upon the things I wish I’d said,

Knowing nothing would come of it,

For there is no chance I could awake the

Dead.

 

In the bashful hours before dawn;

I tiptoe on the ledge between fact and fiction,

Amidst vivid memories of the one who

Was taken away from me, never to come

Back.

 

This was supposed to be our lives.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

