‘Am I Sad?’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

I am.

Nothing more,

Nothing less.

This force is eating me up inside,

Pushing me deep down into an infinite trench.

They say beware of self pity, for it sucks the

Life right out of you, leaving you an empty

Shell of a man, lost and weary.

Am I sad?

I strive for attention,

I just cannot help it.

Every time you look away from me,

Every time you disregard me;

I die a little inside.

Let’s do drugs and be happy,

Let’s forget about our empty lives.

Maybe this is a call for help.

Am I sad?

I was too busy trying to

Collect friends and acquaintances,

Like one would collect souvenirs

From distant lands just to show off.

Too busy that I lost the one person

That mattered the most.

She walked out because I was too selfish,

Leaving a deep well of emptiness in my soul.

Am I sad?

I lay through sleepless nights,

With thoughts falling like

Rain drops inside my head.

I dream of the day I would finally unleash,

The thunderstorm manifesting within me.

Contemplating the scars on my right arm,

The razor blade I held in my trembling hand,

And the blood that oozed from teeming wounds.

Am I sad?

Or am I just human?

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Am I Sad?’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

  1. Budz says:

    Brilliant. I loved every verse.

  2. I’ve been there too brother. keep your head up and look forward to a better tomorrow

Leave a Reply

