‘Good & Evil’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

I’d rather not utter a single word till death than speak foolishly of a world that only exists amidst the thoughts of those who refuse to admit or accept the obvious truth surrounding their delusional heads. They create this world because they’re too afraid of reality, then they judge others for having melt-downs or for falling into deep depression. They’re blind, or at least they blind themselves merely to make it easier on themselves to breathe, but deep down inside their numb souls; they know the truth. They know that the world is poisoned, that the world is filled with evil as much as it is filled with good. But it is not about knowing the truth, it’s about believing in it. Once one believes that the world has its evils, one is set free. It is sad, for these people who pretend that nothing’s wrong, sooner or later will feel reality slapping them smack in the face.

It is natural for any living being (especially humans) to choose the easiest and simplest solution. These people have a vague idea that if they give in to the thought of the world having its share of evil, they’d suffer more. They think that if they accept that fact, they’d be in utter desperation and infinite sorrow. This is not true, not one bit. One must understand that there are two sides to a coin, that one person would lend a hand and the other would bite it off. The balance of good and evil must not shift, that’s the way it should be. And the sooner one realizes that, the sooner it would all make sense.

I realized that truth a long time ago, and like everyone else who found this realization; I felt like being hit by a freight train. I was standing on the roof of my apartment building in the early hours of one winter morning. I’d just finished rolling a cigarette and was about to spark it up when I looked up, I saw the charcoal sky blotter by patches of dark gray clouds, with the moon -which looked like a thin slither of white amidst it all. At that point, I saw all I needed to see to make a conclusion, that there’s a balance to everything. It hit me by surprise, given that the view I saw had nothing to do with the discovery I made, but that’s the way it happened. It set me free, I no longer cared about all those judgmental creatures roaming the earth because I knew I’d always have enemies wanting to crush me. I knew that I’d never stop fighting for something or another. That thought put me in a very peaceful state of mind. There’s always going to be evil in this world. However, there’s always going to be good to fight it off.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

