‘Human Filth’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

On a night like every other night;

I closed my eyes in hopes of a better tomorrow.

I fell once more into the deepest pits of my mind,

Devoured by darkness.

A crimson moon rose, smokey with mist

Over a black river,

Thundering,

Racing rabidly to the end of the world.

Drunken vultures flapped their gigantic wings,

With their scally long necks and junky eyes

Staring into the souls of mutated creatures, humans

Surrounded by clouds of rot which smelt of death.

A few white trunks of decaying trees stood hunched

With  murders of one-eyed crows scattered on their branches.

High mountains fenced those creatures from the rest of mankind,

But ever so often they caught a glimpse of what spread beyond those rocky gates

From holes carved by their own hands which snapped like firewood

With yellow bones sticking out like splinters along

With fountains of dark blood and puss.

But soon they realize that there’s nothing on the other side,

Just reflections of their inhuman faces staring back at them.

Something that appeared to be a female,

Her features too horrible to describe sat beneath a tree trunk,

Feasting on her cub.

Blood splattered all over her face, bits and pieces of flesh scattered.

The sheer shock of the sight in front of my own eyes grabbed at my stomach,

Squeezed at my insides as I hurled around trying to make sense of all this

Madness.

I heard a massive roar that seemed to have come from the ashy sky above;

I looked up to see bolts of lightning crashing into the trees,

Grabbing those creatures, zapping them into nothing but puffs of smoke.

The acid rain fell melting the flesh off of their faces as they howled to the blood-red moon.

I felt something snatching me off the ground into the sky beyond the sky,

Into the clouds beyond they clouds.

Vultures.

“Filthy human.” hissed the Vulture.

“What is this madness?” I barked “What is this world?!”

“This is your future, this is your world

A world without faith,

A world without love,

A world without hope,

A world without dreams.

A world of greed and hate,

This is humanity at its darkest.

This is the end of mankind.

It started with the atomic bomb,

and ended up with the atomic mind.

You are filth, and like so you will remain.

Be gone, human;

You’ve seen your future,

The future of your world if the humankind

Does not change its ways.

Be gone now,

be gone.”

That was the end of it, the end of that hellish nightmare,

Four years and that vision still haunts me till this very day.

I tried, but I couldn’t;

I tried to change them, but they prevented me.

Be gone, human filth;

You deserve what is coming to you.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Prose, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

