‘Slithers’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

It’s 10:50 pm

A windy day, at lest for this town.

33 slithers in my soul, 34…

Never put your hopes up, or everything

Will come tumbling down.

I could smell all that rot being carried

By that breeze for miles and miles.

“And I know by now the children must be crying in

The land where they let the children cry…”

Kerouac said that.

35 slithers in my soul, 36…

The blade is moving swiftly, I can barly

Feel. Or maybe I’ve become that numb.

The candle is burning, dancing it’s ritualistic

Dance. Staring at me, my hazel eyes she

Loves twinkling in that radiance.

I let myself go, the wind carried me

Like a mother would.

37 slithers in my soul, 38…

Life is a concerto in D minor.

I’m listening to Bach’s mass in B minor,

From ink to sound to flesh and blood.

I light a cigarette from the candle,

The tip of my cig kissed its flame.

I felt like a feather against that flow,

Floating aimlessly, lost.

39 slithers in my soul, 40…

You must be lost in order to be found.

It’s 11:15 pm,

Tranquillité.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Slithers’ by Ahmed Nader Gretly

  1. Budz says:

    I like! Very Quentin Tarantino influeneced 🙂 good stuff!

Leave a Reply

