Cairo’s Street Art

So, as I was passing under El-Marghany Bridge in Cairo, I noticed some sweet wheat-pasts under the bridge. Some very interesting pieces of art -which is something we need these days; I took my camera with me today and snapped some shots. I do not hold any copy rights for these art pieces, meaning, I did not print them or past them myself. I just took the photographs, however; I’m preparing some posters and stickers to slap around town.

Here's a black & white piece of Saad Zaghloul's head combined with a football player's body. Zaghloul was the leader of the 1919 revolution here in Egypt. Given that football is the most popular sport in Egypt, I think the meaning of this piece is quite clear

 

This piece is a stencil of a guys head on paper, then pasted on the wall. In my point of view, this piece says something about freedom of speech. But that's just my interpretation.

This is my favorite piece, it's about spreading peace and love across the land... I think. It's still pretty lovely.

I think Shepard Fairey made his way through Cairo because I've seen a lot of these Obey Propaganda posters around town. Shepard is one of the best street artists in the world, however; I'm not saying that he pasted these posters himself, but it's nice to see a familiar face on the walls of C-town.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Photography, Street Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cairo’s Street Art

  1. Dokhan says:

    I’m the one who posted the Obey posters all over town and left a note saying that it belongs to Shepard Fairey and not me and people should read more about the Obey project. Awesome post though.

Leave a Reply

