Something Nader

Hello reader; I’m glad you could join me here. Grab a chair and help yourself to my homemade brownies… special brownies. I thought I’d try something new here, so this post will not contain a story, prose, or any other form of fiction writing. I just want to let a few things off my chest.

These past few weeks have been very strange to me, a lot of things happened, a lot of things have changed, and a lot of realizations have been made. And I think me meeting someone very special had something to do with it –but I’ll get to that later. I’m the kind of person who thinks about everything all the time, my mind keeps going and going, making shit up or evaluating facts. This kind of thinking makes me a bit distant, or weird, and sometimes awkward, I guess that’s one reason I’ve been having all these epiphanies. In the past few weeks, I realized that I don’t have any real friends, no best friends or companions. Don’t get me wrong, I have friends, and they’ve been there for years. But I’ve realized that I can’t call them my friends, given that I don’t have anything in common with them. Different musical taste, different way of thinking, and different interests. My friends don’t read! *Dramatic Music* No one reads, man. How can I be friends with someone who doesn’t read? It’s just wrong, because people who don’t read have a lower level of imagination than those who do, and imagination is what it’s all about.

So that’s the first realization I’ve made. The second one, is that I realized I don’t care about getting published, I don’t care about money or fame or glory, or any of that shit. I know why I write, I write to be free, and don’t say that’s a cliché, that’s a fact and I know it. Screw all these wanna be publishers, they treat you like shit, they’re highly unprofessional and they have Zero imagination, they also lack creativity and experience. It just pissed me off, so I decided that I won’t write for money, I got published before, I know how it is, and I just don’t give a rat’s ass anymore. I feel good when I write, man; it makes me happy (I’m actually smiling right now) so screw publishers, I’m a free writer.

One more realization, well not a realization but something that changed, something new; you know? No? Okay. I started thinking about my past, better yet; I started writing about my past, which was something I highly despised because it brought back large sums of bad memories. I don’t know what to think of this, but It’s making me look at things differently. (I’ll probably write another post about this point.)

I’m still not quite sure, but I think I like where I’m heading; it’s like I’m evolving into this person, or persona, or whatever, and I still don’t know who this person is going to be. But my mind is clear, I’m reading a lot, and I’m writing a lot. I’m also listening to a lot of music. All this happened after I met Athena (That’s the nickname I gave her.) she’s become very special to me, even thought we’ve known each other for less than a month, but it seems like a life time. I could say without hesitation that she’s currently the closest person to me, and that makes me happy.

That’s all I wanted to say, for now that is. I should write more posts like this one. Don’t forget to do what you love, and always remember to be free.

N.

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Non-fiction, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something Nader

  1. Mona B says:

    Gee…I am absolutely speechless…I feel exactly the same way. Wow.

Leave a Reply

