‘Graveyard Blues’ by Ahmed Nader

I was at the graveyard one night a year ago –or maybe a hundred I’m not sure, just hanging around with the dead, when I heard a sobbing sound. I followed the sound, walking in the middle of a path paved with gravel, with the moon hovering over me. The sound kept going and I kept walking, scanning the cemetery,  its grass all moist with water droplets reflecting the moonshine. Tombstones extended here and there, different shapes and sizes. I thought about the people under the ground, rich and poor, all dust or bones now. All waiting for their final judgment, some were being judged while still alive, others weren’t alive at all; just waiting there watching the moon through layers of dirt that became part of them. The mother, the father and the friend, young and old, everybody sharing the silence of the night that felt too surreal to believe. The rustle of the trees and bushes as the wind passed through their leaves and stems made my heart sink. The sobbing increased as I left the path and walked on the grass, the smell of fresh air filled my decaying lungs, but there was something odd in the air, as if it wasn’t meant to be inhaled. A hill appeared in front of me as I made it through the tombstones, I climbed its lazy slope, when I finally reached the top, I saw an old woman on her knees. She was sobbing. I walked past her, went into my grave with a sigh and said “Good night, momma.”

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Surreal, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

