Dean to Athena: A letter

My dearest Athena,

Oh my love, how I’ve missed you so. It has been so dire here without you, I just can’t explain. I always have this feeling like there’s something missing; it feels like someone took away a big part of me. Everything reminds me of you, even the simplest of things, like the color of the sky on a hot summer afternoon, the formation of the clouds above or even the aroma of freshly cut grass. But don’t get me wrong, I respect the fact that you went on to be free, you went on to live your own legend and I love you for that. I can picture you right now standing in front of some humongous mural you’ve just created, standing there with your eyes wide open criticizing your own creation. I can see you gamboling in a glamorous meadow, listening to your music like you always do, setting your soul free. You cannot imagine how much I’ve yearned for these days, the days we’d just lay down on the grass watching millions and millions of starts shimmering millions and millions of light years away, talking about things that only you and I could understand, wondering if someone’s watching us and thinking if someone really was, he’d think that we’re a couple of runaway maniacs. But it is okay my darling; we had to go our separate ways at some point, but I always had this image of you and I growing old together, remember? We had this plan to travel the world and finally settle down by the river Susquehanna or maybe build a little house in Rome that we could call our home. Oh how I’ve missed you my love, your chatoyant eyes, your dulcet lips, your pearly teeth, your velvet hair, your silky skin and your demure manner. You were always the elegant one, always speaking in that murmurous tone that sounded like a heavenly harp to me. But I am not blue my love, for we shall meet again in this too-big of a world, our paths shall cross each other again and when they do, I shall never let you go. You keep doing what you do and I’ll keep marching on, doing my own thing. I’ll think about you every time I brood, every time I reflect, every time I’m inspired, every time I win and every time I loose. Alas my love, our souls shall meet tonight when I put my head to rest, hearing the sound of a thousand clocks and my slow heart beats. I’ll think about you when I close my eyes and dream, dream of you, my love.

Love,

Dean

About Ahmed Gretly

Ahmed Nader Gretly. Construction/Site Engineer, fiction writer, poet, psychopath, researcher, a book addict, and a daydreamer from Cairo, Egypt. Currently doing Construction Project Management, MSc, at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

